The IUPUI Office of Academic Affairs and the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) invite interested IUPUI faculty to join the inaugural cohort of Forum Fellows.

CTL Director, Terri Tarr and STEM Instructional Design Consultant, Anusha S. Rao have been selected to attend

CTL Director, Terri Tarr, James Gregory, Douglas Jerolimov, and Anusha Rao will conduct an interactive session titled Closing the Loop: Formative Evaluation of Faculty Development Webinars at the 2016 Professional and Organizational Development (POD) Network Conference which will be held November 9 - 13, 2016.

Will speak on Peer-Led Team Learning

This year’s symposium will feature a plenary talk by Dr. Stephen Fox of IUPUI entitled Audiences, Purposes, and Projects: Making Writing Assignments Matter; Dr. Randy Bass of Georgetown University will deliver the keynote: Liberal Education Re-Bound: Designing Learning in the Emerging Digital Ecosystem.”

Tom Janke, Assistant Director, IUPUI Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL), has announced he is leaving IUPUI to assume the role of Director of the Center for Academic Technology at Butler University. Tom’s last day with us will be Tuesday, January 19th.

Nine new faculty members were chosen as the 2015 cohort of the Early Career Teaching Academy.

CTL Executive Director and Professor of Chemistry Pratibha Varma-Nelson, along with a team of researchers from IUPUI and Loyola University Maryland, are currently featured in the Journal of Research in Science Teaching. Their article, entitled "Replicating Peer-Led Team Learning in Cyberspace: Research, Opportunities, and Challenges. Of 32 articles received for consideration only five were published in this special edition.

CTL Executive Director Pratibha Varma-Nelson was selected to present at the 23rd IUPAC International Conference on Chemistry Education to be held at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre from 13-18 July, 2014. This will be the first time since 1989 that this conference has come to Canada.

CTL Executive Director Pratibha Varma-Nelson and Assistant Director Thomas Janke were selected to host a roundtable discussion at the 2014 EdMedia World Conference on Educational Media and Technology in Tampere, Finland this June.

Professor of Chemistry and CTL Executive Director Dr. Pratibha Varma-Nelson will be awarded the Outstanding IUPUI Woman Leader award in the "newcomer" faculty category for the 2014 Women's History Month Leadership Awards. The award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, March 26 at 2:30 p.m. in the Campus Center Theater. Chancellor Charles Bantz will provide opening remarks to the program entitled “Celebrating Women of Character, Courage and Commitment." A reception will follow the event.

CTL staff were coauthors on two recent publications about Cyber Peer-Led Team Learning (cPLTL) which was developed at our CTL. 1. Supporting student collaboration in cyberspace: A cPLTL study of web conferencing platforms. 2. PLTL: Tracking the trajectory from face-to-face to on-line environments

With support from the Next Generation Learning Challenges (NGLC Wave I), the cPLTL team led by Pratibha Varma-Nelson hosted the second annual National Adoption Workshop to facilitate the adoption and evaluation of cPLTL in higher education.

2012 Effective Practice Awards presented at 5th Annual International Symposium for Emerging Technologies for Online Learning, July 25-27, in Las Vegas

The cPLTL team led BY Pratibha Varma-Nelson has received $166, 000 follow-on funding from the Next Generation Learning Challenges Wave 1 program

IU Office of Online Education funds Special Focus Curriculum Enhancement Grants in Support of IU Online"/media/db0ecbc6-914a-4ef7-92ba-717c75830ec2/e97Pjw/CTLContent/CEG/2013/Special_Focus_CEG_RFP_2013.docx", "_blank");window.focus();

Center for Teaching and Learning

phone: (317) 274-1300
755 West Michigan Street
UL 1125
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5146
Give Now